The Municipality of Trent Hills is governed by a seven member Council. Council is comprised of a Mayor and Deputy Mayor, elected at large, and five Ward Councillors, each representing one Ward.


As one of the 7 municipalities that comprise the County of Northumberland, Trent Hills’ Mayor sits on Northumberland County Council, along with the Mayors from the other municipalities.


Role of Council

  • To represent the public and to consider the well-being and interests of the municipality;
  • To develop and evaluate the policies and programs of the municipality;
  • To determine which services the municipality provides;
  • To ensure that administrative policies, practices and procedures and controllership policies, practices and procedures are in place to implement the decisions of council;
  • To ensure the accountability and transparency of the operations of the municipality, including the activities of the senior management of the municipality;
  • To maintain the financial integrity of the municipality; and
  • To carry out the duties of council under the Municipal Act or any other Act. 


All meetings of Council and its advisory bodies are governed by the Municipality’s Procedural By-law.

Individuals who submit letters and other information to Council and its advisory bodies should be aware that any personal information contained within their communications may become part of the public record and may be made available through the agenda process which includes publication on the Municipality’s Meeting Portal.

Members of the public are welcome to attend the meetings of Council and its advisory bodies.

Contact Us